Business Luncheon Meeting Southwest Society of Periodontists

Meeting Agenda

Saturday, January 23, 2021 – 12:30 pm – 1:00 pm

- I. Call to Order Dr. Kristi Soileau called the meeting to order at 12:51 PM and thanked everyone for their attendance at the meeting and attending in person.
- II. Invocation Dr. Soileau delivered the invocation.
- III. Sponsor / Exhibitor Recognition Dr. Soileau recognized Dr. Laura Rabe who thanked the Sponsors for their support of the Society and the Winter Meeting.
- IV. Secretary's Report Dr. Takanari Miyamoto
 - a. Approval of Minutes from the January 25, 2020 Business Meeting as published in the PROBE Newsletter. Dr. Temple moved approval of the minutes as presented in the PROBE. Dr. Daniella Zambon seconded the motion. Motion passed.
- V. Treasurer's Report Dr. Cuong Ha Dr. Cuong Ha thanked everyone for attending and supporting the society, he reported that the lack of previous summer meeting and smaller winter meeting will result in an operating loss for the current Fiscal Year. Dr. Ha encouraged everyone to be ambassadors for the society and the Winter Meeting.
- VI. Central Office Report Justin Heyman No report
- VII. PROBE Editor's Report Dr. Kayleigh Eaves Temple No report
- VIII. Webmaster's Report Dr. Ali Sajadi No report
- IX. Standing Committee Reports
 - a. Annual Meetings Committee Dr. Shelby Nelson reported that Dr. Schwarz will be the speaker at the summer meeting pending no travel ban, but a virtual presentation may be in place as a backup.
 - b. Budget and Finance Committee Dr. Scott Bedichek No report.
 - c. Central Office Committee Dr. Scott Dowell No report.
 - d. Executive Committee Dr. Kristi Soileau Dr. Soileau noted how difficult a year this has been and noted that everyone will be working together to move forward. Dr. Soileau also mentioned AAP awards are open and if anyone was interested to reach out to her for additional information.
 - e. Membership Committee Dr. Matt Carlisle presented the new members for approval by the Society. Dr. Kayleigh Eaves Temple moved to accept the new memberships. Dr. Coung Ha seconded the motion. Motion passed.
 - f. Nominating Committee Dr. Natalie Frost reported on the nominees for the Slate of Candidates for 2021-2022. The Slate of Candidates is as follows:

President-Elect – Dr. Takanari Miyamoto

Secretary-Elect - Dr. Yong-Hee Chun

Treasurer-Elect – Dr. Daniella Zambon

Member at Large - Dr. Ali Sajadi

Member at Large – Dr. Kayleigh Eaves-Temple

- Dr. Matt Steffer moved approval of the Slate of Candidates as presented. Dr. Shelby Nelson seconded the motion. Motion passed.
- g. Scientific Affairs Committee Dr. Pooja Maney No report.
 - John F. Prichard Prize for Graduate Research Subcommittee Dr. Natalie Frost No report.
- h. Strategic Long-Range Planning Committee Dr. Scott Dowell No report.
- i. Governmental and Regulatory Affairs / Sedation Committee Dr. John Dmytryk No report
- X. Ad Hoc Committee Reports
 - a. Exhibitor Committee Dr. Jeff Pope No report.
 - b. By-Laws, Policies & Procedures Dr. Scott Dowell No report.
- XI. AAP Trustee Report Dr. Soileau reported on the activities of the AAP and a successful virtual AAP Meeting. Dr. Soileau noted that all content from the AAP meeting will be available for the next year. Dr. Soileau welcomed any comments or issues to be brought to the AAP.
- XII. Old Business Dr. Rader spoke on a new development with regards to the State Board of Texas.

 There is now a specific anesthesia juris prudence exam. He spoke on what the exam consists of and the length of the exam. Dr. Rader discussed that no legislation is pending that would affect sedation.
- XIII. New Business None.
- XIV. Adjournment Dr. Rader moved to adjourn the meeting. Dr. Miyamoto seconded the motion. The meeting was adjourned at 1:14 pm.